European Region of Gastronomy 2017

EastLombardy, the territory consisting of the provinces of Bergamo, Brescia, Cremona and Mantua, gained the prestigious title of European Region of Gastronomy 2017.

This territory featuring excellent wine and food productions was awarded by IGCAT, the International Institute for Gastronomy, Culture, Arts and Tourism, together with regions of Riga and Aarhus: examples of culinary tradition and vitality.

Being European Region of Gastronomy is an amazing change to promote food and wine innovation and Lombard gastronomic traditions, enhancing the local products as well.

East Lombardy is a territory featuring the best food and wine:
24 PDO and PGI products
25 wines including COD, CGOD and TIG
22 starred restaurants
11 Slow Food Presidia
If you want to enjoy an authentic experience, don't miss the best of East Lombardy gastronomy: stuffed fresh pasta, cheese, Franciacorta delicious wines. Not to mention Garda Lake olive oil, polenta, freshwater fish and Torrone. This is what our generous land offers us, this is what our expert chefs use to create their delicious dishes.
Farmers, producers, restaurant and hotel owners: the entire world of tourism and gastronomy is involved in this ambitious project aiming to raise awareness about food culture, to innovate and develop a sustainable tourism and to improve the quality of life across European regions.
EastLombardy's DOMUS is waiting for you in Bergamo city centre, in Piazza Dante. The location showcasing the best food and wine products and producers from our territory will promote numerous events and activities.
EastLombardy 2017 is ready to make you enjoy a whole year of events and initiatives celebrating food and wine culture.